LEAVING OUR TRIBAL CAMPS

I have been ruminating about how we can overcome the various challenges that seem to blur our potential as a nation in Nigeria, and it dawned on me that the only way that can happen is if we collectively let go of our tribal camps and allow the best among us lead the change, not caring where he. Or she comes from – whether he or she belongs to majority or minority ethnic group. For once, I want to see an Igbo man or an Hausa man rule Lagos provided he is the best and all his interest in Lagos and I want to see either a Yorba man or an Hausa man rule Anambra and either a Yoruba man or an Igbo man do same in Kano or Sokoto. I want to see us treat ourselves as humans first and not as animals that are of different breeds. Let’s recognize that development can only come when we run an inclusive system underscored by merit and openness. I believe in a healthy rivalry among regions, but I also believe that every Nigerian should be able to self actualize anywhere he chooses to reside within Nigeria; that way, I believe that regions will succeed or fail based on their preparedness and willingness to allow diversity and inclusion. I dream a Nigeria where state of origin and local government is not emphasized and all that matters is what you have to offer. Until that happens, politicians will continue to use our differences to divide us for their selfish advantages. For in truth, only nation, that allows diversity and inclusion can rise to greatness. God bless Nigeria.

Leave a comment